The Ecosystem for Energy Efficiency in Mauritius

The ‘Programme National d’Efficacité Energétique (2015-2018) is based on an original partnership between the Ministry of Energy and Public Utilities and Business Mauritius with the technical and financial support of the Agence Française de Développement, the European Union, Switch Africa Green and the Human Resources Development Council. Its objective is, through the protection of the environment, to allow businesses to make substantial savings on their energy bills and to become more competitive; and in the long run to encourage the emergence of a high-quality energy efficiency market.

Read More

Jocelyn KWOK

Director of the Association des Hôteliers et Restaurateurs de l’Ile Maurice (AHRIM)

“This association does its best to promote sustainable tourism by creating awareness and engaging with its members in terms of the actions to be taken to preserve our environmental and ecological wealth in Mauritius. We started our awareness campaign on energy efficiency in 2008 and I think that today, with the PNEE, we have reached a remarkable national level with the participation of many hotels in the project.”

HOTEL 1&2

Lilowtee RAJMUN

CEO of the Mauritius Export Association

Companies involved in the Seafood and Textile sectors in Mauritius are energy-intensive. The energy costs of those companies represent between 10% and 15% of their costs of production. That’s the reason why members of the MEXA have long since taken measures aimed at reducing energy usage by engaging the services of world renowned consultants and by introducing advanced technology. At the level of the association, the term Green Economy is understood in its broad sense. It’s a matter of taking...

Read More
Textile

Mickaël APAYA

Energy and Environment Project Manager of Business Mauritius

During the design of the PNEE, Business Mauritius has undertaken a pilot project on steam system in 2014 with 8 companies. Now, on this specific project, 4 additional companies participated in the audit and if we include the boilers of the textile project, this make a total of 15 boilers which have been audited. And out of these15 boilers, 4 of them run with coal and 11 with heavy fioul oil. It is in the interest of the companies to...

STEAM

Franck DAGANAUD

Technical Assistance – PNEE

Compressed air is a source of energy which is being used in many industrial companies and this, whatever the sector: Agro-industry, Processed food, Plastic, Textile. This is a process that generally has strong potential energy savings, not only in the production of compressed air but also in the distribution system and in the uses of compressed air.

Read More
COMPRESSED AIR

Catherine GRIS

Executive Officer – Association of Mauritian Manufacturers

The local industry is a key pillar of the economic development in Mauritius. It represents 10.5% of our GDP or 64% of industrial GDP and more than 55,000 employments; more precisely 20,000 jobs in big companies and 35,000 jobs in Small and Medium Enterprises. This is the reason why AMM has taken up the subject of energy efficiency in partnership with Business Mauritius to devise a regional cooperation programme with the Reunion Island industries which gave rise to the Programme...

COOLING SYSTEM 1&2

Mickaël APAYA

Energy and Environment Project Manager of Business Mauritius

“A request for proposal was launched in December 2015 targeting the Retail sector at the national level. Business Mauritius then registered 6 partner companies to this project. They were keen to cofinance 40% of the energy audit, the rest being taken over by the European funds through the Agence Française de Developpement. Further to the audit report, the Human Resource Development Council supported financially the total costs of the capacity building programme delivered by the auditors.”

Read More
RETAIL SECTOR

Jacqueline Sauzier

Executive Secretary – Mauritius Chamber of Agriculture

The Sugar Industry is undergoing a total transformation on a global level. Today, the sugar production represents 3% of our country’s GDP. The abolition of sugar quotas has resulted into the saturation of the European market by the beetroot sugar producers. We must therefore take action locally. One of the subjects which we have examined recently is the reduction of our production costs linked to irrigation. Knowing full well that the energy used nowadays to irrigate more than 16,000 hectares...

Read More
PUMPS

Franck DAGANAUD

Technical Assistance – PNEE

“The technical visit, first step of the process, allows the drafting of the technical specifications for each of the partner companies. The technical assistance team then engages into a consultation to recruit experts having a deep understanding of the production of solar water heating while being able to meet the pre-established exigencies. The quality norms can also be met by the technical assistance by the re-examination of the audit report and of the training needs.”

Read More
SOLAR WATER HEATING

Transport

PME

Breakfast

2017 Anneé de l'efficacité énergétique à Maurice

The year 2017 has been placed under the theme of energy efficiency by Business Mauritius with the organisation of 8 breakfast meetings from April to November. The objective was to create a space for dialogues between the largest number of companies, consultants and suppliers based on the energy audits completed. About 80 persons met each month to discover the project feedback and discuss about the solutions to be implemented subsequently.

Read More

Partners

BM-MCCI Building,
Rue du Savoir, Cybercity, Ebène
T +230 466 3600
E info@pnee.mu
Energy Efficiency in enterprises is a pillar of Business Mauritius’ energy transition dynamic

L’écosystème de l’efficacité énergétique à l’île Maurice

Le Programme National d’Efficacité Energétique (2015-2018) repose sur un partenariat original entre le Ministère de l’Energie et des Services Publics et Business Mauritius, avec le soutien technique et financier de l’Agence Française de Développement, l’Union Européenne, Switch Africa Green, et le Human Resources Development Council. L’objectif est, par la protection de l’environnement, de permettre aux entreprises de réaliser des économies substantielles sur la facture d’énergie et d’améliorer leur compétitivité. A terme, l’ambition est de faire émerger un marché de l’efficacité énergétique de qualité.

En Savoir Plus
Hôtelier 1&2

Jocelyn KWOK

Directeur de l'Association des Hôteliers et Restaurateurs de l'Ile Maurice

« En matière de tourisme durable, l'association s'efforce de sensibiliser et de mobiliser ses membres sur les actions à entreprendre afin de préserver toute cette richesse environnementale et écologique de l'île Maurice. Depuis 2008, nous avons commencé une sensibilisation sur les questions d'efficacité énergétique. Avec le PNEE, je pense qu'aujourd'hui nous avons atteint une dimension nationale remarquable avec une très grosse participation des hôtels dans tous ces projets. »

Hôtelier 1&2
Textile

Lilowtee RAJMUN

Directrice de la Mauritius Export Association

Les entreprises des secteurs textile et seafood représentent des grands consommateurs d’énergies à Maurice. Le coût énergétique constitue entre 10% à 15% dans les coûts de production de ces entreprises. C’est pour cette raison que les membres de la MEXA ont entamé les démarches pour obtenir des économies d’énergies depuis bien longtemps. Des actions pour bénéficier de consultants aux références internationales et pour introduire des technologies avancées. Au niveau de l’association, on parle du Green Economy au sens large. Il...

En Savoir Plus
Textile
VAPEUR

Mickaël APAYA

Chargé de mission énergie et environnement Business Mauritius

Dans la préparation du PNEE, Business Mauritius a fait un pilote vapeur en 2014 avec 8 entreprises. Sur ce projet spécifique on a encore 4 entreprises et si on ajoute les chaufferies du projet textile, cela fait un total de 15 chaudières auditées. On note qu’il y a 4 qui fonctionnent au charbon et 11 au fioul lourd. Les entreprises ont intérêt à faire des économies d’énergie parce qu’elles utilisent des sources de combustibles avec un impact fort sur les...

VAPEUR
Air Comprimé

Franck DAGANAUD

Assistance Technique PNEE

L’air comprimé est un usage de l’énergie que l’on retrouve dans de nombreuses entreprises industrielles et ceci, quel que soit le secteur : Agro-alimentaire, Plastique, Textile. C’est un usage qui présente généralement de fortes potentielles d’économies d’énergies, non seulement dans la production de l’air comprimé mais aussi dans le système de distribution ainsi que dans les usages de l’air comprimé.

En Savoir Plus
Air Comprimé
FROID 1&2

Catherine GRIS

Directrice Executive - Association of Mauritian Manufacturers

L’industrie locale est un pilier incontournable du développement économique de Maurice. Cela représente 10,5 % du PIB soit 64% du PIB industriel et plus de 55,000 emplois, précisément 20 000 emplois dans les grandes entreprises et 35 000 emplois dans les Petites et Moyennes Entreprises de production. C’est pourquoi l’AMM s’est emparée du sujet de l’efficacité énergétique avec Business Mauritius et nous avons conçu un programme de coopération régionale avec les industriels de la Réunion qui a donné lieu au...

FROID 1&2
SUPERMARCHÉ

Mickaël APAYA

Chargé de mission énergie et environnement Business Mauritius

“Un appel à candidature a été lancé en décembre 2015 aux entreprises de la grande distribution au niveau national. Business Mauritius a alors enregistré 6 entreprises partenaires à ce projet. Elles étaient volontaires à cofinancer 40% le coût de l’audit énergétique, le reste étant pris en charge par les fonds européens à disposition de l’Agence Française de Développement. Suite au rapport d’audit, le Human Resource Developement Council soutient financièrement l’intégralité de la formation délivrée par les auditeurs. ”

En Savoir Plus
SUPERMARCHÉ
POMPE

Jacqueline Sauzier

Secrétaire Générale – Mauritius Chamber of Agriculture

L’industrie sucrière se trouve aujourd’hui en plein mutation au niveau mondial. Le sucre aujourd’hui représente 3% du PIB dans notre pays. L’abolition des quotas sucriers fait que les producteurs betteraviers ont saturé le marché européen. Nous devons réagir localement. Un des sujets sur lequel nous nous sommes penchés récemment est la réduction des coûts de production liée à l’irrigation. Sachant que l’énergie utilisée est très importante pour irriguer aujourd’hui plus de 16 mille hectares. Donc le PNEE, initiative de Business...

En Savoir Plus
POMPE
Eau Chaude Solaire

Franck DAGANAUD

Assistance Technique PNEE

La visite technique, première étape du processus, permet de rédiger un cahier des charges de l’audit spécifiquement pour chacune des entreprises candidates. L’assistance technique lance ensuite une consultation afin de recruter l’expertise ayant une forte connaissance de la production d’eau chaude solaire, et pouvant ainsi répondre aux exigences préétablies. L’encadrement de la qualité par l’assistance technique se fait aussi par la relecture du rapport d’audit et des supports de formation

En Savoir Plus
Eau Chaude Solaire
Transport

Transport
PME

PME

Breakfast

2017 Anneé de l'efficacité énergétique à Maurice

L’année 2017 a été placée sous le signe de l’efficacité énergétique par Business Mauritius avec l’organisation de 8 breakfast d’avril à novembre. L’objectif était de créer un espace d’échanges entre le plus grand nombre d’entreprises, de consultants et fournisseurs sur la base des audits énergétiques réalisés. Ce ne sont pas moins de 80 personnes qui se sont réunies chaque mois pour découvrir ce retour d’expériences et débattre des solutions à mettre en œuvre par la suite.

En Savoir Plus

Partenaires

BM-MCCI Building,
Rue du Savoir, Cybercity, Ebène
T +230 466 3600
E info@pnee.mu
L’efficacité énergétique en entreprise est un pilier de la dynamique de transition énergétique portée par Business Mauritius